Cups served with Happiness

I was searching for an article to review on RewardMe for the contest ‘Ready for Rewards’ organised by Blogadda. RewardMe has got some great minds behind writing articles which are posted on their site. It has articles listed in many categories such as Beauty, Skin care, Hair care, Fashion tips, Family life, Child and You, Food, Family Bonding, Home decor and crafts. Basically I started with searching for a best gift that can be given to a mother on her birthday, but since I got bored I switched to search for an article that I can review for this contest. The search began in the category for Home decor and crafts, I found many creative ideas about decorating a home, arranging photos on a wall, etc. In crafts I found some articles that listed some creative ways of making some gifts out of wastes that we have at our home. I found them very interesting that I was reading various articles which were connected through links to other articles.

And luckily I landed on the article called “Ten-minute treat – Brownie in a mug” which was listed in the food category. I was just going to skip that page but just before doing that I got the thought that my mom loves brownies. It was her birthday tomorrow and and I only had a hour left to plan some surprise for her. And thanks to my brain who immediately gave me the idea that I should cook brownie for my mom on her birthday, this gift made by me will give her that happiness which no expensive gift can ever give.

I just took a screenshot of the ingredients and went searching for all of these, lucking a few were there at my home but a few required to be brought from the market. It was 11 pm and I was praying to God that I find a shop which will give all the ingredients I require. I required the following ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • instant coffee, a pinch
  • salt, a pinch
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • a few drops vanilla extract
  • ice cream or canned whipped cream (optional).

I had everything at my home except the cocoa powder which was the most important ingredient for this recipe. Expecting to get something like cocoa powder late at night around 11 pm was also sounding a little funny to me but I kept my hopes alive. I took my bike and went around searching for any open store in my area. Well, a product like cocoa powder is generally sold in a general store and I could not find even a single general store open. All the shops were closed except a few medicals which are open for 24 hours. I just went there and asked for it, I was expecting a no from the shopkeeper but thanks to my luck, that medical had that product. I was feeling like the luckiest person in the world and then I went back to home to prepare the brownie.

I just collected all the ingredients and was all set to follow the instructions to cook the brownie. And then I just followed the directions given on that article:

1. In a microwave-safe, large mug, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, sugar, instant coffee and salt.

2. Add water, oil and vanilla extract and mix until smooth.

3. Microwave on high for 60-75 seconds until cooked.

4. Let cool for a minute.

That’s all, I took a tray and lighted a few candles to decorate a little. I had some time left and I used it to prepare a card for my Mom wishing her a Happy Birthday. It was 12 am and it was time to celebrate, I went to my mom and wished her Happy Birthday by giving her the card and the cup of brownie. She was very happy and hugged me after looking at that gift for her birthday. And finally I succeeded in making my Mom happy on her birthday. I would really thank RewardMe and the author of that article who helped me in an indirect way to surprise my mom on her birthday. Here is a pic of what I made on that day:


I am participating in the ‘Ready For Rewards’ activity for Rewardme in association with BlogAdda.

One thought on “Cups served with Happiness

Leave a Reply

